Our Story

Our mission is to excel in the delivery of opportunities for affordable housing that empower, build, and sustain vibrant self-determined communities on the Arctic Slope for generations to come.

It’s just not just what we do, it’s the way we do it. These are the A.R.C.T.I.C. values that set TNHA apart:


We own our actions and work hard to earn and keep the public’s trust.

Enter Your Text


We have due regard for the rights, wishes and feelings of all.

Enter Your Text


We show care and sensitivity for the concerns of others.

Enter Your Text


Our strength comes from our combined efforts as a group.

Enter Your Text


We strive to model honest and upright conduct at all times.

Enter Your Text


We uphold our words with action.

Enter Your Text

The Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act signed into law by President Nixon in 1971—the largest land claims settlement in U.S. history—created twelve Native regional corporations in Alaska, including the Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, or ASRC.

The Arctic Slope Native Association, ASRC’s non-profit arm, was in turn empowered by state law to form a public corporation to address housing needs, and on September 18, 1974, the Arctic Slope Corporation Housing Authority was incorporated.

Twenty years later, in 1994, our Board of Commissioners changed our name to Taġiuġmiullu Nunamiullu Housing Authority, to avoid any confusion with ASRC. In 1996, Congress passed the Native American Housing and Self-Determination Act (NAHASDA), which consolidated several Indian housing programs into block grants exclusively available to federally recognized tribes. Under NAHASDA, TNHA continues to manage a portfolio of Indian housing projects developed with federal assistance prior to 1996. NAHASDA also authorizes TNHA, as the Regional Housing Authority, to administer block grants for individual tribes who designate TNHA as the recipient of their housing funds.

Currently, six tribes have authorized TNHA to act on their behalf as their Tribally Designated Housing Entity (TDHE): the Native Village of Point Lay, the Native Village of Nuiqsut, the Naqsragmiut Tribal Council, the Native Village of Kaktovik, and the Native Village of Atqasuk. Through the Board of Commissioners, these tribes continue to direct and monitor TNHA’s administration of their NAHASDA block grants.

Read About Our Impact